

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 2024 HAZARDOUS WASTE ACTIVITIES FORM

CASHIERS USE ONLY

0098-542-0651-0689 0098-542-0651-0692 0098-542-0651-LF-0649 **EPA ID Number** Facility Name

US EPA ID #:	FACILITY NAME & MAILING ADDRESS:	FACILITY NAME & ADDRESS:
SEE REVERSE SIDE OF DOCUMENT FOR	INSTRUCTIONS	
IS YOUR FACILITY A GOVERNMENTAL E		
	governmental agency of Iowa (State, County,	or City) check Yes.
If you checked YES, you may skip to Section 8 titled CERTIFICATION at the bottom of the form, complete, and return.		
If you checked NO, complete all following s		, ,
1) HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATOR FEE (D		1.
1a) Multiply each ton (up to 2,500) of hazard	dous waste transported off site from where the h	azardous waste was
	ess than ¼ ton check this box 🔲 and do not enter a	
	as sent to a hazardous waste disposal facility in low	
enter that amount. See field 8 on Uniform Hazard		1b
hazardous waste non-hazardous by \$2.00 and en	ous waste treated or destroyed at the site of general	ation to render the $1c.$
mazardous waste non-nazardous by \$2.00 and en	tter that amount.	<u> </u>
2) HAZARDOUS WASTE TREATMENT, STORA	AGE, OR DISPOSAL FEE (Due regardless of exe	emptions in #4) 2.
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	waste transported from the disposal facility site by	
amount. If less than ¼ ton check this box and		2a
facility by \$40.00 and enter that amount.	, deposited, dumped, or disposed of onto or into th	ne land at the disposal 2b.
	ous waste treated or destroyed at the disposal facili	
hazardous waste non-hazardous by \$2.00 and en		2c.
•		
3) HAZARDOUS WASTE TRANSPORTER FEE	(Due regardless of exemptions in #4)	3
4) EXEMPTIONS You are exempt from payment of fees in sections	ta 1h 1c and 2a 2h 2c for any portion of your y	waste that meets the following criteria. If no
You are exempt from payment of fees in sections 1a, 1b, 1c, and 2a, 2b, 2c for any portion of your waste that meets the following criteria. If no tonnage fees are recorded in 1a, 1b, 1c, or 2a, 2b, 2c there must be an exemption checked below to waive those tonnage fees. Check all boxes		
that apply.		
The hazardous waste is recycled, reclaimed or reused for energy or materials.		
The hazardous waste is transformed into new products that are not considered wastes.		
The hazardous waste is created or retrieved because of remedial action at a hazardous waste or hazardous substance disposal site.		
The waste is the influent to a wastewater treatment facility that is subject to regulation under section 33 U.S.C. 1317(b) or 33 U.S.C. 1342.		
☐ A hazardous waste, which, due to its intrinsic physical, chemical or biological composition, degrades, decomposes or changes physical		
characteristics so as to be rendered or considered non-hazardous without any form of external mechanical, physical or chemical treatment		
	a non-hazardous nature must occur within 24 hou	
before the exemption granted in this parage	raph is applicable.	
5) Add amounts entered in sections 1, 2 and 3 ar	nd enter the fee due. If you do not owe a fee, enter	\$0.00. 5
6) Enter 15% penalty if DNR will receive the fee a	after the April 15, 2025 deadline.	6
7) Add amounts in 5 and 6 and enter the total an	nount due.	7
CERTIFICATION		
8) I certify that the information contained i	n this form is true and correct to the best of	my knowledge.
NABAT	CIONATURE	DATE
NAME	SIGNATURE	DATE
EMAIL ADDRESS PHONE NUMBER		
Make checks payable to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (Iowa DNR)		
Mail this form and payment to;		
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES		

6200 PARK AVE STE 200 DES MOINES IOWA 50321

INSTRUCTIONS

Section 455B.424 of the Iowa Code requires small and large quantity generators and anyone that treats, stores, disposes of or transports hazardous waste in Iowa to complete the enclosed Hazardous Waste Activities Form and pay the appropriate fee. You are receiving this form because the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulates your facility under the Hazardous Waste Management section of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA).

Fees entered on the form are based on data provided by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Contact EPA Region 7 at lowa.Notifications@epa.gov to make corrections related to addresses, ownership, operating status, or EPA can also answer questions about your EPA Hazardous Waste ID Number.

Technical Questions, please contact Matt Graesch at 515-250-1923 or Matthew.Graesch@dnr.iowa.gov Payment Questions, please contact Angie Clark at 515-689-9149 or Angie.Clark@dnr.iowa.gov

Fees are due if the business was operated for any portion of the previous calendar year. The form must be completed, signed, and returned with any fee due by April 15, 2025. A 15% penalty will apply to all fees received after April 15.

If wanting to pay via credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover), please email the completed form to Angie Clark and she will call you for the credit card information. Please DO NOT include the credit card information in the email.

For more information, visit:

http://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Land-Quality/Contaminated-Sites/Haz-Waste-Fees https://www.epa.gov/hwgenerators

Section 1 - Hazardous Waste Generator Fee (Fee due regardless of exemptions in Section 4)

Generators: a person (to include a business/corporate entity) whose act or process produces hazardous waste identified or listed in 40 CFR Part 261. Every site that generates hazardous waste must have an EPA registration number. If a generator keeps hazardous waste on site for more than 90 days, they becomes an "operator" of a storage facility (see Section 2 below). This section is for those facilities who have been determined by EPA to be a generator of hazardous waste. There is no exemption for this generator fee. The fees are broken down into the categories listed below. The generator fee will automatically be pre-printed in the appropriate field on the form per information received from the EPA.

Small Quantity Generators - \$25.00 (facilities generating between 220 and 2200 pounds in any calendar month)

Large Quantity Generators - \$250.00 (facilities generating greater than 2200 pounds in any calendar month)

Very Exempt Small Quantity Generators - not required to report activities or pay a generator fee (facilities generating less than 220 pounds all months in a calendar year).

In fields 1a, 1b, and 1c, tonnage fees are assessed and determined by the disposition of the hazardous waste generated. If no tonnage fees are recorded in fields 1a, 1b, or 1c, you must have the qualifying exemption(s) marked in Section 4 to waive those tonnage fees for your facility.

Section 2 - Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage, or Disposal Facility (TSD) Fee (Fee due regardless of exemptions in Section 4)

Treatment/Storage/Disposal (TSD) Facility: can be either of these or all at once; requires a special permit from the EPA, which can either be for the lifetime of the facility or for no more than 10 years (the latter includes land disposal, storage, or incinerator facilities). This section is for those facilities that have been determined by the EPA to treat, store or dispose of hazardous waste. There is an annual \$25.00 fee for Hazardous Waste TSD facilities. There is no exemption for this TSD fee. This TSD fee will automatically be pre-printed in the appropriate field on the form.

In fields 2a, 2b, and 2c, tonnage fees are assessed and determined by the disposition of the hazardous waste received. If no tonnage fees are recorded in fields 2a, 2b, or 2c, you must have the qualifying exemption(s) marked in Section 4 to dismiss your facility from these tonnage fees.

Section 3 - Hazardous Waste Transporter Fee (Fee due regardless of exemptions in Section 4)

Transporters: handles and moves hazardous waste, which is shipped off-site, from where it was generated, stored, or temporarily disposed of. A transporter can store hazardous waste at its facility for up to 10 days without becoming a storage facility (see Section 2). This section is for those businesses that have been determined by the EPA to transport hazardous waste. There is an annual \$25.00 fee for Hazardous Waste Transporters. There is no exemption for this Transporter fee. This Transporter fee will automatically be pre-printed in the appropriate field on the form.

Section 4 – Exemptions

This section is for exemptions on tonnage fees assessed in 1a, 1b, 1c, 2a, 2b, and 2c for any portion of the hazardous waste that meets the criteria listed. More than one exemption box may be checked if it applies towards the disposition of the waste generated.