

# Remit this form to your County Recorder IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Licensing Section
6200 Park Ave Ste 200, Des Moines IA 50321
(515) 725-8200 | www.iowadnr.gov

## OHV Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application for Dealer Renewal and Special Certificates

(for demonstrating, testing, or selling All-Terrain Vehicles, Off-Road Utility Vehicles, Off-Road Motorcycles)

### Please submit fees with application

If completing online, please use the "TAB" key to navigate your way through this form. <u>DO NOT</u> press Enter.

<b>Business Information</b>						
Business Name:						
Physical Address:						
City:	State:	Zip:		County:		
Mailing Address:		E-mail	:			
City:	State:	Zip:		County:		
<b>Contact Person</b>						
Last Name:		First N	lame:			
Phone Number:		Fax:				
Renewal		Duplicate(s)		A ZZ		
(If applying for a renewal or duplicate(s), please write your ZZ number in the space above.)						
Please indicate:		Manufactu	rer 🗌	Dealer	Dist	tributor
Type of Privilege				Cost	Am	ount Paid
SPECIAL CERTIFICATE						
(License to operate as an Iowa Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor; includes one decal) New Registrations and Renewals				\$47.75 x 1		
DUPLICATE SPECIAL CERTIFICATE						
(Additional decals to demonstrate more than one machine at a time, if needed)				\$7.75 x		
				TOTAL ENCLOS	ED	
Signature of Applicant				Date		

If you are mailing the application to the County Recorder please add an additional mailing fee of \$1.00.

04/2024 cmc DNR Form 542-0844

#### DEALER, MANUFACTURER, DISTRIBUTOR SPECIAL CERTIFICATE INFORMATION

The following is *some* of the important information concerning guidelines and responsibilities for lowa dealers, manufacturers, and distributors. Please carefully read, review the DNR website (<a href="www.iowadnr.gov">www.iowadnr.gov</a>), and consult the full applicable Codes and your legal advisor for more information.

#### Code of Iowa Chapter 321I Manufacturer, distributor, or dealer — special registration.

- 1. A manufacturer, distributor, or dealer owning an all-terrain vehicle required to be registered under this chapter may operate the all-terrain vehicle for purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or selling it without the all-terrain vehicle being registered, except that a special registration decal issued to the owner as provided in this chapter shall be displayed on the all-terrain vehicle in the manner prescribed by the rules of the commission. The special registration decal shall not be used on an all-terrain vehicle offered for hire or for any work or service performed by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer.
- 2. Every manufacturer, distributor, or dealer shall register with the department by making application to the commission, upon forms prescribed by the commission, for a special registration certificate and decal. The applicant shall pay a registration fee of forty-five dollars and submit reasonable proof of the applicant's status as a bona fide manufacturer, distributor, or dealer as may be required by the commission.
- The commission, upon granting an application, shall issue to the applicant a special registration certificate and decal. The special registration certificate shall contain the applicant's name, address, and the general identification number; the word "manufacturer", "dealer", or "distributor"; and other information the commission prescribes.
- 4. The commission shall also issue duplicate special registration certificates and decals which shall have displayed thereon the general identification number assigned to the applicant. A county recorder may issue duplicate special registration certificates and decals electronically pursuant to rules adopted by the commission. The fee for each additional duplicate special registration certificate and decal shall be five dollars plus a writing fee.
- 5. Each special registration certificate issued under this section shall be for a period of three years and shall expire on December 31 of the renewal year. A new special registration certificate for the three-year renewal period may be obtained upon application to the commission and payment of the fee provided by law. A county recorder may issue special registration certificate renewals electronically pursuant to rules adopted by the commission.
- If a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer has an established place of business in more than one location, the manufacturer, distributor, or dealer shall secure a separate and distinct special registration certificate and general identification number for each place of business.
- 7. A dealer shall make application and pay all registration and title fees if applicable on behalf of the purchaser of an all-terrain vehicle. If the registration has expired while in the dealer's possession, the purchaser may renew the registration for the same fee and writing fee as if the purchaser is securing the original registration.
- Nothing in this section shall prohibit a dealer from obtaining a new registration and transfer of registration in the same manner as other purchasers.
- 9. The commission may adopt rules consistent with this chapter establishing minimum requirements for dealers. In adopting such rules, the commission shall consider the need to protect persons, property, and the environment and to promote uniformity of practices relating to the sale and use of all-terrain vehicles. The commission may also adopt rules providing for the suspension or revocation of a dealer's special registration certificate issued pursuant to this section.
- **Operation pending registration.** An all-terrain vehicle sold by a dealer shall bear a pasteboard card furnished by the commission which entitles the purchaser to operate it for forty-five days immediately following the purchase. The purchaser of a currently registered all-terrain vehicle may operate it for forty-five days immediately following the purchase without having completed a transfer of registration.

#### **Iowa Administrative Code 571 Chapter 46**

"Dealer" means a person engaged in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging all-terrain vehicles required to be registered under lowa Code chapter 321I and this chapter and who has an established place of business for that purpose in this state.

"Distributor" means a person, resident or nonresident, who sells or distributes all-terrain vehicles to all-terrain vehicle dealers in this state or who maintains distributor representatives.

"Engaged in the business," or similar wording, means doing any of the following acts for the purpose of selling all-terrain vehicles at retail: acquiring, selling, exchanging, holding, offering, displaying, brokering, accepting on consignment or conducting a retail auction, or acting as an agent for the purpose of doing any of these acts. A person selling at retail more than five all-terrain vehicles during a 12-month period may be presumed to be engaged in the business.

"Manufacturer" means a person engaged in the business of constructing or assembling all-terrain vehicles required to be registered under lowa Code chapter 321I and this chapter and who has an established place of business for that purpose in this state.

- **Dealer's established place of business.** A dealer's established place of business shall include landline telephone service and an adequate office area for keeping business records, manufacturers' certificates of origin, certificates of title or other evidence of ownership for all-terrain vehicles offered for sale.
- **Zoning.** Dealers licensed under these rules must comply with applicable local zoning ordinances. Upon request by the department, a dealer shall provide to the department written evidence, issued by the office responsible for the enforcement of zoning ordinances in the city or county where the dealer's established place of business is located, that the dealer's established place of business complies with all applicable zoning provisions.
- Sales tax permit. A dealer shall provide to the department written evidence that the dealer has obtained a sales tax permit issued by the department of revenue.
- Information provided to purchaser. At the time of sale, a dealer shall provide all purchasers of all-terrain vehicles with both (1) a copy of current all-terrain vehicle laws and regulations governing the usage of all-terrain vehicles in the state of lowa, and (2) the most up-to-date list of public places open for all-terrain vehicle usage. The department shall provide this required information on its Website, <a href="www.iowadnr.gov">www.iowadnr.gov</a>. Information provided on the department's Web site shall be deemed current and the most up-to-date information for purposes of this rule.

04/2024 cmc DNR Form 542-0844