

# CONSTRUCTION PERMIT APPLICATION FEES FOR MAJOR SOURCES

### FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS)

These FAQs have been prepared by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to assist facilities in complying with state fee requirements for permit applications. This document is intended solely as guidance, cannot be used to bind the DNR and is not a substitute for reading applicable statutes, rules and permits.

# 1) Are there fee requirements for construction permit applications submitted to the DNR?

Yes. The Iowa Environmental Protection Commission adopted rules and a fee schedule on December 15, 2015, establishing fees for major source construction permit applications. The fees became effective on January 15, 2016.

### 2) How can I verify that my facility is a major source?

Applicants who are uncertain of their source status may use the State and Local Emissions Inventory System (SLEIS) to check their source status. Find guidance on how to use SLEIS at

https://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Air-Quality/eAirServices.

If the application is for a new facility or an existing facility without construction permits and the equipment is not covered by an exemption, the facility is considered a major source until review of the construction permit application is completed and a permit(s) is issued. If necessary, applicants can also contact the Construction Permitting Hotline (1-877-247-4692) to discuss source status.

# 3) How much are the construction permit application fees and when do they become effective?

For major source construction permit applications (including Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) permit applications) submitted on or after **January 15**, **2016**, applicants will be billed at a rate of \$115 per hour for review and processing of the application. This rate also applies to review of each plant-wide applicability limit (PAL) request, renewal, or reopening, and review of each regulatory applicability determination, and preapplication reviews and meetings.

If air quality modeling is triggered as part of the construction permit application review process,

applicants will also be billed at a rate of \$90 per hour for costs related to reviewing or conducting the modeling. This will include costs associated with development and review of modeling inventories and protocols.

All fees for the air quality program are included in a Fee Schedule at www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees.

### 4) Do these fees apply if my facility is located in Linn or Polk counties?

For questions about facilities located in Polk or Linn County contact the local program offices for information on air permitting fees.

For facilities in **Polk** County, contact Jeremy Becker at jeremy.becker@polkcountyjowa.gov or 515-286-2263.

For facilities in **Linn** County, contact Wanda Reiter Kintz at Wanda.ReiterKintz@linncountyiowa.gov or 319-892-6012.

#### 5) Do fees apply when using an exemption?

The application fees do not apply to equipment that is excluded from the requirement to obtain an air construction permit when an applicable exemption is used. Find exemptions from construction permitting in 567 IAC 22.1(2). If an applicant submits a permit application for equipment eligible to be exempted, the application fees apply even if DNR finds that the equipment under the application is exempt from a construction permit. By rule, equipment that is part of a PSD project is not considered to be exempt and is required to obtain a permit.

Note: A request for DNR to determine whether equipment can use a specific exemption is considered a regulatory applicability determination. Requirements for requesting a regulatory determination are in 567 IAC 22.1(3). Each review request will be billed at the rate of \$115 per hour.

#### 6) When do fees have to be paid?

Applicants will be billed (invoiced) upon completion of final permit issuance for construction permits and plant wide applicability limits, and completion of a regulatory applicability determination. The invoice will state when the fees have to be paid, which will typically be 30 days following the date of invoicing.

#### 7) How do I submit the fees?

During review, invoices will be provided to the applicant for the processing charges associated with construction permit application review activities, and activities related to review of plant wide applicability limits or regulatory applicability determinations. DNR will send invoices to the person listed as the billing contact on the DNR AF Form submitted in the construction permit application. Payment information will be provided on the invoice. Payment can be made by check, money order, credit card, or cash.

# 8) Are fees charged for administrative amendments to a construction permit?

The following types of amendments do not require fees to correct: typographical errors; word processing errors; changes in the name, address or telephone number of any person identified in the permit, registration, permit by rule or template; or similar minor administrative changes at the source.

A fee and DNR form are also not required with requests for changes in ownership or operational control of a source if no permit modification is requested and where DNR determines that no other change in the permit is necessary. However, the source must submit a written agreement to DNR containing a specific date for transfer of permit responsibility, coverage and liability between the current permittee and the new permittee. If the facility wants to have a permit modified to show the change in ownership, the standard fee of \$115 per hour applies.

### 9) How will fees be assessed for Collection of Air Permits (CAP) and Group of Identical Permits (GIP) construction permit applications?

Fees will be assessed in the same manner for CAP and GIP construction permit applications as for non-CAP and non-GIP construction permit applications.

# 10) How can my facility provide recommendations to the DNR regarding fees?

The major source construction permit application fee advisory group (<a href="www.iowadnr.gov/majorcpfees">www.iowadnr.gov/majorcpfees</a>) will meet annually to review the draft budget and major source application fees. Participants may provide recommendations regarding fees necessary to cover all direct and indirect costs to administer the major source construction permitting program. The meeting will be held prior to the March Commission meeting each year and will be posted on the DNR website 14 days prior to the meeting.

#### 11) What will the fees be next year?

Any changes in the fees will be made by the Environmental Protection Commission and posted on <a href="https://www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees">www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees</a>. New or adjusted fees will become effective on July 1. Fees not adjusted will remain in effect as previously established.

### 12) Is there a fee to rescind a permit?

No.

#### 13) Who do I contact for assistance?

For questions contact the Construction Permitting Hotline at 1-877-247-4692.