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Information contained on this side is 
for Casual** Sales 

(**Sale between individuals) 
See reverse side for information 
when purchased from a dealer 

USED VESSEL – REGISTERED IN IOWA 
Registration does NOT need to be current to 
transfer ownership, but a $5 penalty may apply. 
 
Documentation Required 

• Registration signed by seller  
• Title, if previously titled, signed on the 

back by seller** 
• Bill of Sale signed by seller listing 

purchase price of VESSEL ONLY.  Iowa 
State sales tax will be collected on the 
purchase price. 

• Application for Registration (Obtained 
at local County Recorder’s office) 
 

**If the Title has a notation regarding a lien, the 
lien MUST be released by the County Recorder’s 
office listed on the title.  
 
Fees – with Current Registration 
Registration only    $2.25 
Registration with title  $12.25 
Registration with title & lien  $22.25 
 
Fees – with Expired Registration 
Must pay full three-year fee.  Use NEW VESSEL 
Fee listed under 1/1/10-4/30/11 according to 
length of vessel (see reverse side). 

• If expired with NO title - New Vessel fee 
PLUS $6.00 

• If expired with a Title - New Vessel fee 
PLUS $16.00 

• If expired with a Title & Lien - New 
Vessel Fee PLUS $26.00 
 
 

USED VESSEL – REGISTERED IN ANOTHER 
STATE 
Documentation Required 

• Registration signed by seller, if required by 
previous state 

• Title, if previously titled, signed by seller 
• Bill of Sale signed by seller listing purchase 

price of VESSEL ONLY.  Sales tax will be 
collected on the purchase price. 

• Application for Registration (Obtained at 
local County Recorder’s office) 

 
Used vessels previously registered in another state 
will pay the fees listed for “New Vessel Fees” on 
reverse side, prorated by date of registration, plus 
any penalty, title or lien fees. 
 
 
 

A VESSEL NEVER REGISTERED IN ANY STATE: 
Contact your local County Recorder or the Iowa 
Department of Natural Resources (1-515-281-5918) 
for documentation required and fees. 

This brochure is designed to help you obtain the 
proper paperwork and fees to register your new or 
used vessel.  

Disclaimer:  The information contained herein is 
subject to change by the Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources.  If you have any questions, 
please contact your local County Recorder or the 
Iowa Department of Natural Resources at 1-515-
281-5918. 
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NEW VESSEL FROM DEALER 
Documents will be provided by dealer, which includes: 

• MCO/MSO – Manufacturers 
Certificate/Statement of Origin (if required) 

• Bill of Sale – Must show amount of sales tax 
collected by dealer or sales tax will be 
collected by the County Recorder’s office. 

• Application for Registration 
• Fees are based on date of registration and 

length, see chart below. 
 

 

NEW VESSEL FEES: 
All Personal Watercraft 
1/1/10-4/30/11           5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $46.25         $31.25             $16.25 
 
Any Length No Motor/No Sail 
1/1/10-4/30/11           5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $13.25         $9.25          $5.25 
 
Motor/Sail Less than 16 feet 
1/1/10-4/30/11           5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $23.75        $16.25                             $8.75 
 
Motor/Sail 16’ less than 26’ 
1/1/10-4/30/11           5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $37.25       $25.25         $13.25 
 
Motor/Sail 26’ less than 40’ 
1/1/10-4/30/11          5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $76.25        $51.25                           $26.25 
 
Motor/Sail 40’ and Over 
1/1/10-4/30/11           5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
        $151.25       $101.25                         $51.25 
 
Documented Vessels 
1/1/10-4/30/11          5/1/11-4/30/12           5/1/12-4/30/13 
         $26.25       $17.85                $9.55 

 

$10.00 Title Fee  $10.00 Lien Fee 

Dealers add $1.00 for postage and mailing fee. 

USED VESSEL FROM DEALER – Registered in 
Iowa 
Registration does NOT need to be current to transfer 
ownership.   
 
Documentation Required 

• Registration signed by seller  
• Title, if previously titled, signed on the back 

by seller** 
• Bill of Sale listing tax collected by dealer  
• Application for Registration  

**If the Title has a notation regarding a lien, the lien 
MUST be released by the County Recorder’s office 
listed on the title.  
 
Fees – Current Registration 
Registration only    $2.25 
Registration with title  $12.25 
Registration with title & lien  $22.25 
 
Fees – Expired Registration 
Must pay full three year fee.  Use NEW VESSEL Fee 
listed under 1/1/10-4/30/11 according to length of 
vessel  

• If expired with NO title - New Vessel fee 
PLUS $1.00** 

• If expired with a Title - New Vessel fee PLUS 
$11.00** 

• If expired with a Title & Lien - New Vessel 
Fee PLUS $21.00** 

**If registration was expired when the dealer took 
possession of the boat there will be a $5.00 penalty 
added to the fees listed above. 

USED VESSEL FROM DEALER – REGISTERED IN 
ANOTHER STATE 
Documentation Required 

• Registration signed by seller, if required by 
previous state 

• Title, if previously titled, signed by seller 
• Bill of Sale listing tax collected by dealer 
• Application for Registration  

 
Used vessels previously registered in another state 
will pay the fees listed for “New Vessel Fees” 
prorated by date of registration, plus any title or lien 
fees. 
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