

DIRECTOR KAYLA LYON

May 21, 2024

#### Re: 2023 Title V Air Emissions Fee Invoice and Payment Information

The 2023 Title V Air Emissions Fee is due **no later than July 1, 2024** as required by 567 Iowa Administrative Code (IAC) 30.4(2). The Title V air emissions fee for calendar year 2023 has been set at **\$70.00 per ton**. To obtain an invoice for your records or for mailing purposes please log into the State & Local Emissions Inventory System (SLEIS) and print form "SLEIS Form 5.0 - Title V Annual Emissions Fee Payment".

The DNR provides two options for payment of the Title V Emissions Fee:

- <u>To pay online</u>: Please visit our Payment Portal at <u>https://programs.iowadnr.gov/payments</u>. Title V emissions fees due may be retrieved by searching for the facility by emission inventory questionnaire (EIQ) number, facility identification number, or facility name as it appears in SLEIS. Payments may be made by credit/debit card or electronic check. No login is required and no additional paperwork is necessary.
- <u>To pay by Mail</u>: Submit the fee payment along with a copy of SLEIS form 5.0-Title V Annual Emissions Fee Payment to:

Please note that our address has changed Attention: Title V Emissions Fee Payment Iowa DNR - Air Quality Bureau 6200 Park Ave Suite 200 Des Moines IA 50321

Please see the enclosed Title V Annual Emissions Fee FAQ for a list of frequently asked questions regarding emissions fees and new service charges and credit/debit card transaction fees. If you have any questions regarding the fee payment, contact Wendy Walker at (515) 250-7534 or Wendy.Walker@dnr.iowa.gov.

Sincerely,

Mainie Stein

Marnie Stein Supervisor, Air Operating Permits Section

Enclosure: Title V Annual Emissions Fee FAQ



### Title V Annual Emissions Fee Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

When are Title V annual emissions fees due? They must be post-marked by July 1, 2024.

### Can I pay the emissions fee electronically?

Facilities have the convenience of paying Title V emissions fees online. The fees can be paid by credit card, debit card, or electronic check. Check the <u>eAirServices page</u> or go to <u>https://programs.iowadnr.gov/payments</u> and select Pay Title V Emissions. A service charge of \$1.50 will be charged to all payments. Credit/debit card transactions will have an additional 2.5% fee applied to the transactions. DNR accepts the following credit cards: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express.

#### What form is required?

If you are paying by mail, one copy of the "SLEIS Form 5.0 - Title V Annual Emissions Fee Payment" is required. The form is not required if you are paying via the electronic payment portal. See above for more information.

# If paying by mail, to whom should the check be made out to?

Iowa DNR - Air Quality Bureau

## Where do I mail the annual emissions fee form and payment?

<u>Please note that our address has changed</u> Attention: Title V Emissions Fee Payment Iowa DNR - Air Quality Bureau 6200 Park Ave Suite 200 Des Moines IA 50321

### How do I prepare the SLEIS Form 5.0 if mailing my payment?

Log into your SLEIS account, open the emissions report for calendar year 2023, and click on the "Title V Annual Emissions Fee Payment" under the heading "Emissions and Fees". You may open the "SLEIS Form 5.0 - Title V Annual Emissions Fee Payment" in HTML or PDF format. This form automatically calculates the fee due under the heading "Annual Fee Payment". Print one copy of the SLEIS Form 5.0 and have the Responsible Official sign the "Certification of Emissions Fees". More guidance on using SLEIS is available at the <u>eAirServices page.</u>

What should I do if the contact or responsible official is different from the SLEIS Form 5.0? Contact the SLEIS Helpdesk at <u>sleis@dnr.iowa.gov</u> for assistance in processing the change.

# What should I do if I find an error in the emissions inventory I submitted earlier this year?

Contact the SLEIS Helpdesk at <u>sleis@dnr.iowa.gov</u> to request an amendment. Then correct the errors in SLEIS, submit the amendment, and then follow the instructions to make your payment.

## Is there a cap on the amount of emissions that require fee payment?

Yes. There is a 4,000 ton cap per pollutant.

## Do I need to pay fees on emissions from insignificant activities?

No. According to 567 IAC 30.4(2), fees are not required for emissions from insignificant activities.

#### **DNR Air Quality Technical Updates**

DNR's air quality technical updates are targeted to the regulated public and consultants to deliver timely regulatory news, program updates, and technical guidance to your email.

To subscribe, go to <u>www.lowaCleanAir.gov</u> and click blue button to "Sign up for Air Quality Technical Updates".